Check Rates
+41 91 966 27 28
Check Rates

HISTORY

In 1928 Friedrich Wassmann, a native of the city of Hamburg, bought "Villa Savosa" from a Chilean Consul, and until 1940 it was used as a sanitarium. In 1941 his son Waldemar, who in the meantime had taken over the management of the property, had the good idea of changing it into the Lugano-Savosa Youth Hostel. He was the first to offer overnight stays in the hostel spirit, already fashionable in the rest of Europe (an interesting fact: the cost of a night's stay at the time was CHF 0.90).

In the years 1946/47, the first important restructuring works were carried out, aimed at creating larger and more hospitable rooms, together with a considerable increase in the number of beds available. In the '50s, there were already about a hundred beds.

More recently, the daughter of Waldemar and Martha, Mrs. Lotti, married to Majek, took over the management, making it more dynamic and gaining even greater popularity. In the last few years, she has been running the hostel together with her children, (who ensure the present and future continuity of a family based hostel). The family's priorities are still the same: cordiality and a warm welcome, at the service of their guests.

  • Storia (11)
  • Storia (3)
Close

Preis anzeigen
+41 91 966 27 28
Preis anzeigen

GESCHICHTE

Im Jahr 1928 erwarb Friedrich Wassmann aus Hamburg von einem chilenischen Konsul die Immobilie "Villa Savosa" und nutzte sie bis zum Jahr 1940 als Kurheim. Im Jahr 1941 gründet der Sohn Waldemar, der in der Zwischenzeit die Führung übernommen hat, die Jugendherberge Lugano-Savosa. Damit bietet er auf dem Markt eine der ersten Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten im Stil einer Herberge an, wie sie in anderen Teilen Europas zu dieser Zeit bereits verbreitet und beliebt sind (eine Kuriosität: die Übernachtung kostete zu dieser Zeit 0,90 Schweizer Franken.)

In den Jahren 1946-1947 werden die ersten, bedeutenden Umbauten vorgenommen. Die Räume werden vergrößert, gemütlicher gestaltet und die Anzahl der Plätze beachtlich erhöht. In den 50-er Jahren hat das Haus bereits ca. 100 Schlafplätze.

Heute wird die Herberge geschickt und dynamisch von der Tochter von Waldemar und Martha, Lotti, verheiratete Majek, geführt. Ebenfalls beteiligt sind die Kinder, die zu einer Gegenwart und Zukunft im Zeichen der Dauerhaftigkeit und Innovation beitragen. Die Prioritäten der Familie Majek-Wassmann haben sich jedoch nicht geändert: Das Hauptanliegen ist und bleibt die Gastfreundschaft im Dienste der Besucher.

  • Storia (11)
  • Storia (3)
Schliessen